15 Hour Airplane Essentials

I used to think I could not sleep on a plane.

Probably half the reason: I really enjoyed flying = excited.

The other half : the sleeping in public bit. I didn’t like it.

That changed pretty quickly when I moved overseas.

My job was based in Dubai. So anytime I would go home on vacation (which was whenever I could) I had to make this quick little 15 hour flight. Twice (don’t forget the return trip).

DXB – SFO : 8,099 miles

That’s halfway around the world!

I got pretty good at sleeping on planes. And knowing what I would need for these airplane rides (my go-to carry on essentials). I thought I would share it with the internet world in case it might help someone.



1. The Clear Bag

IMG_2907

This see-through bag is my favorite accidental discovery! I had been given a toiletry bag (with the little shampoo and conditioner travel bottles) which is how I came to have this magical bag.  Nothing is more annoying than having a tangled mess of ear bud cords wrapped around everything else. Bonus: you can see what is inside!

Items inside:

Ear buds to listen to music, Adapter if you need it, Chapstick it’s the worst when your lips are chapped and you can’t do anything about it at 30,000 ft. Eye DropsEye Mask : life changer when you are trying to sleep. I could sleep anywhere, anytime with this bad boy. Cough Drops, extra Bobby Pins/ Hair Ties : because not having one sucks, Perfume to hide that airplane smell, Breath Mints/ Gum to hide that airplane food, Passport if you need it, Lotion for my face/ hands, Ibuprofen or some type of pain reliever .

 

And then you have all your other standard items; Sweater, Book, Makeup, Hairbrush, Sunglasses, Phone Charger, Food Bars, Tissues, Water, Socks, Pens.



Tips I want to highlight:

Nothing is worse than being cold, hungry, or thirsty.

H20 : I would always buy a water bottle. Or two! Especially longer flights, usually the water they provide with the service is just not enough.

Food Bars: I made sure I brought food bars/snacks with me. I remember one time I had to fly the 15 hours to LAX and then catch an hour flight up to northern California. I had slept through the last food service before landing into LAX and didn’t have time to eat in between the hustle of changing planes. The food bar was a life saver. Also, sometimes airplane food isn’t enough or doesn’t taste very good and its nice to have another option.

Sweater/Jacket: Airplanes are cold.



I hope this list was helpful or at least reminded you of something you might have been forgetting.

Happy travelling !

2 thoughts on “15 Hour Airplane Essentials

  1. I could have used this help years ago when I made trips with Doreen to Paris,Spain, New Zealand. Once in a while in our weekly Travel section there will be travel hints. You shuld offer your advice to some papers or magazines–you made more than enough flights to qualify as an expert.

    Hope you enjoyed your visit to Dubai–are you missing the life yu led for about four yers? Dixon and Dubai both start with the letter D but that’s the end of the similarity.

    Give your niece and nephews a big hug for me. love you Grandma P

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

