4 Years

This was 4 years ago, almost to the day .

November 15th 2012, when I was starting a new and scary page of moving to DUBAI to start my career as a flight attendant.

72102_10151276657266998_1624320419_n

Bleached blonde hair, bangs, and a few tears later I boarded my plane. I told myself if I really hated it I could quit and go home.

I thought, “If I can just make it one year, I will be proud.”

Well… one year turned to two years… turned to three years… and unbelievably turned to FOUR years.

And every year has been a different experience. I have ALWAYS liked the job. But living abroad held different challenges and experiences.

First one was thrilling, fun, new. The friends I made at the beginning were so important for me not to up and run back home!

Second year was a little more lonely , some of those close friends quit, the homesickness pull was stronger , some days I hated being in Dubai. I was at a critical part of my time here, trying to decide if I should quit and move home or stay and get a car.

Third year showed an improvement in my idea of this city, I had stayed and gotten a car and that really was a life changer. I started enjoying this crazy place!

Fourth year was the best year. I was finally in business class, so the job wasn’t as emotionally difficult (passengers in business have much better manners). Exploring Dubai (and other places!) with my car was my favorite. I think this was the year I did the most trips during my days off to other places besides home.

img_7140

So here I am, putting in my resignation. A little sudden, a little unsure, but excited about what comes next ! And having a little normalcy return to my day – to – day. Seeing  my family without fighting jet lag. Being home for Christmas. BABIES!

So lets see what 2017 holds.

4 thoughts on “4 Years

  1. I WILL SO MISS SEEING THE WORLD THROUGH YOUR TRAVELS. iT’S BEEN A BLAST.

    HAPPY LANDINGS IN LITTLE OLD DIXON. LOVE GRANDMA F

    ________________________________

  2. Hi Jess–you’re days of crazy hours (and wonderful travels) are drawing to a close. Try to find on your computer a song from World War 1–sort of applies to you- goes ‘How are they going to keep them down on the farm after they’ve seen Paris’ (pronounced Paree). Maybe you’ll make it home in time to greet the new nephew. love Grandma F

    ________________________________

    • Grandma ! I looked up the song, it is so cute. I am wondering what I will end up doing and if I get too bored I have some ideas. I hope I make it back in time for shannys baby! Fingers crossed he doesn’t come early.

Leave a Reply

